geekery · reviews

Partial Book Review – The Wind Up Girl

The Windup GirlThe Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

An un-finished review;

I really wanted to enjoy this book but sadly I couldn’t I made it a hundred or so pages in and it was too depressing to go on with. It was very well written with fascinating ideas and interesting characters, but also very dark. As interesting as they were none of the characters came across as likable. Pitiable, intriguing, bizarre? Yes, but I wasn’t able to really connect or sympathize with anyone that had been presented so far.

The underlying story is chilling, in the very near future calorie companies have genetically modified almost all foods, viruses and bugs to force people to buy only their products lest they become infected with any of the engineered diseases. Fossil fuels are have been depleted and a global economy is no longer a possibility.

Within this bleak world we are introduced to a calorie company man, one who hunts down the rogue gene hackers who create new foods outside of the companies purview. And a wind up girl, a creche grown mechanized creature that is enslaved to a cruel mob group.

There is graphic sex, harsh violence and upsetting ideology on display, and while none of those things will necessarily set me off a book I do have to be in the mood to read that sort of thing.

I will give this one another try in a few months and hope that I will enjoy it more.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

