geekery · Linkfest

A Random Linkfest

It’s been a normalish week for me this week so I was actually able to pull together some links I found to be interesting enough to pass along. The linkfest returns! There was no consistent theme for my web persusings this time, so it’s a collection of the random and hopefully enjoyable.

Let’s get to it!

This site requires a bit of background reading, specifically having read at least one book by Cormac McCarthy (you know that guy who wrote No Country for Old Men and The Road). If you know his style then you will love his restaurant and store reviews! Check out Yelping with Cormac for more info, see below for an excerpt.

And a man from the restaurant came forward and said they had brought pasta for the boy and that in the tradition of their restaurant the boy’s bowl would never be allowed to empty nor would he be want for breadsticks until such time as he was sated.

Here is a letter written by what is obviously the Man EVERYONE wants to date. Seriously, how could anyone turn down someone who writes such poetry as this?

I assume that you no longer want to go out with me. (If you do want to go out with me, then you should let me know.) I suggest that you make a sincere apology to me for giving me mixed signals. I feel led on by you….You played with your hair a lot. A woman playing with her hair is a common sign of flirtation….We had lots of eye contact during our date. On a per-minute basis, I’ve never had as much eye contact during a date as I did with you…You said, “It was nice to meet you.” at the end of our date.

Hair twisting? Eye Contact? IT WAS NICE TO MEET YOU!? That’s practically saying fuck me now big man. A sincere apology is obviously owed. ugh, women. /sarcasm

Hat tip to Captain Awkward for the excellent links above. If you aren’t reading Captain Awkward you really should be.

In the Social Justice/Geek arena there is a fabulous article for Social Justice League about the sometimes questionable media that I and other geeks enjoy. I already think about the media I consume and do my best not to make the errors that are listed in this article, but it’s hard when you like something so very much not to want to justify that liking. But remember, just because you like it and it’s enjoyable on some levels doesn’t mean it’s not without it’s problems and that’s ok.

How to be a fan of problematic things

For those who love inventive RPG’s Bastion is now available in a Chrome web browser. It’s fun and different then the typical RPG and at $15 well worth the time and enjoyment you will get out of it.

Permit me a fangirl moment here in my final link of the day, Final Fantasy X is being remade in HD for the PS3 and Vita. I will almost certainly be buying this, I loved Final Fantasy X (and Final Fantasy X-2 for that matter) and haven’t replayed it for years so this will give me the perfect excuse. The only downside of the game for me was the having to play Blitzball but that’s because I personally despise sports games and am terrible at them because I never ever play. The art, music, story were all delicious.

That’s all for today, the Fiance and I are off to partake in the Doomtree Blowout this evening. Hoping it will be great show, it probably will be because…well…Doomtree.

2 parting shots, in a break from the usual weekly Batman, I’m giving the guest spot to Ironman.

First the for the cute:

and then for the kick ass

Ok you twisted my arm, here’s some weekly Batman. This one proves that not only is Batman prepared for sharks, he’s prepared for any contingency.

Leave a Reply

